How can we improve the Microsoft Edge developer experience?

Allow Edge to be updated on its own

Microsoft isn’t updating Edge via the Store as originally promised. Edge updates seem to be held back for major new versions of Windows 10, unlike Windows 10’s other included apps, which are updated more regularly. A good example is the big Nov 2015 Windows update which is the only way to get Edge 25 with EdgeHTML 13 including the drag & drop file fix.

As a web developer I can safely assume Firefox and Chrome users are on the latest version (we don't support the versions pre auto-update). I can't for Edge because major Windows updates are non-trivial and not always installed. Edge was supposed to end the nightmare of multiple IE versions, but in a way it's actually worse.

2,481 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Jade Ohlhauser shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

25 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Microsoft - Since IE 6 you're making web developers lives miserable. It's time that you align with the standards and stop lagging behind. With the advent of emscripten, asmjs and WASM, more and more products are porting C++ code, the standards are updated frequently and there's a real need for frequent browser updates. If you're looking to maintain or increase the ~8% market share, you'll have to step up. Please consider.

• Ferdy Christant commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate